Skip to content
Home » Focus Counties » Forsyth County

Forsyth County

FCNC County Pages for FCNC Focus (Redraw) Counties
Anson Buncombe Carteret Cumberland Edgecombe Forsyth Granville Guilford Halifax Lenoir Mecklenburg Nash Orange Pasquotank Robeson Vance Washington Wayne Wilson

Forsyth County will probably not redraw county commissioner district boundaries in 2021 because 2020 Census data shows the districts are still within the permissible range. If the commission chooses to adjust the lines, county residents should demand an open redistricting process and districts that fairly represent communities in the county. Below is the current county districts boundaries map, basic demographic information, and how county residents can participate in ensuring a fair redistricting process in the county.

FCNC is not an official website of the county government.


You can participate in achieving Fair Redistricting in Forsyth County.

A team of volunteers are asking for a fair redistricting process, if district boundaries are redrawn for Forsyth county commissioners in 2021 — see below for current status. Individuals and organizations are encouraged to join the effort.

To get involved, contact or use the FCNC contact page. The FCNC Fair Redistricting Guide has more information about how to achieve fair redistricting at the county level.

Forsyth County Board of Commissioners Structure

The Forsyth County Board of Commissioners has 7 members. Commissioners are elected from 2 districts with 1 commissioner elected at large. 2 commissioners are elected from District A. 4 commissioners are elected from District B. Commissioners serve 4-year staggered terms. Your county commission makes many decisions that affect you, including providing funds for schools, public health, and many local services, writing regulations, approving projects, and setting tax rates.

Current Districts Map

County Demographics/Population Data

Following are demographics for the county. The “2019 Population Est. – Percentages” data at the county level are displayed both in the table and also below the table as a bar chart. Click on the municipality below to visit their website.

Past Litigation/Legislation

NAACP v. Forsyth County (1988)

Forsyth Commissioners Districting (NCGA House Bill 560), (1989)