Skip to content
Home » Focus Counties » Carteret County

Carteret County

FCNC County Pages for FCNC Focus (Redraw) Counties
Anson Buncombe Carteret Cumberland Edgecombe Forsyth Granville Guilford Halifax Lenoir Mecklenburg Nash Orange Pasquotank Robeson Vance Washington Wayne Wilson

Carteret County will redraw county commissioner district boundaries in 2021. County residents can demand an open redistricting process and districts that fairly represent communities in the county. Below is the current county districts boundaries map, basic demographic information, and how county residents can participate in ensuring a fair redistricting process in the county.

FCNC is not an official website of the county government.


Carteret will redraw its six districts sometime this Fall after the 2020 Census data are received. Volunteer to help get the word out to your fellow Carteret residents, help organize briefings on the process, and encourage your commissioners to provide ample opportunities for residents to be part of the process.

Adjusting district boundaries will probably be needed to ensure that each district has an approximately equal population (except District 3, which has two commissioners and therefore should have twice as many residents as the other five districts, based on “one-person-one-vote”).

Carteret residents have the right to be part of these important decisions, which will shape how they and their communities are represented for the next 10 years. Communities with shared interests–economic, historic, environmental, etc.–should be kept together to ensure their community is kept together and has a strong voice on the commission.

You can participate in achieving Fair Redistricting in Carteret County.

When volunteers form a fair county redistricting team then progress made during the year will be reported here.

No county team formed yet. Fair Counties NC can help you start a team in your county. Volunteer here.

Carteret County Board of Commissioners Structure

County District Map

Commissioners serve 4-year staggered terms. Your county commission makes many decisions that affect you, including providing funds for schools, public health, and many local services, writing regulations, approving projects, and setting tax rates.

The Carteret County Board of Commissioners has 7 members elected from 6 districts:
– 2 members are elected from District 3 (Morehead City)
– 1 member is elected from each of the other 5 districts (1, 2, 4, 5, and 6)
– all members serve 4-year staggered terms

Each commissioner must reside in his/her district. Candidates for commission seats must live in the district they are running from and only district voters vote in the primary to “nominate” candidates for these seats. Then, in the general election, all county voters vote to elect commissioners to all open district seats. (Orange County is the only other county that uses this system.)

Current Districts Map

County Demographics/Population Data

Demographics for the county, downloaded from and